Food, Yarn, & Stuff

Needless heart surgery? Houston doctor argues that a plant-based diet works better than a bypass – 2011-Jul-08 – CultureMap Houston

Posted on: July 10, 2011

Needless heart surgery? Houston doctor argues that a plant-based diet works better than a bypass – 2011-Jul-08 – CultureMap Houston

This article centers in on my reasoning for going vegan – health.  I had a check-up this year, and while the doctor said my cholesterol levels were excellent, I figure, why not take the worry about that out of the equation!  I had lost about 50 pounds over the last two years through killing myself at the gym every day, and counting my calories.  But, when I bruised a vertebrae in my back during a work out and couldn’t run daily or do all the things I had been doing at the gym I started to get lazy.  I started to lose track of my calories – but I wasn’t gaining weight… yet.  Eventually, my lack of activity caught up with my eating, and I gained back about 30 pounds.  Since going vegan, I still haven’t gotten back to a regular workout routine, but I’ve lost close to 10 pounds just by making healthier choices.  While I probably do still eat too much ‘processed’ vegan food – I think processed vegan food is probably still better than processed non-vegan food, which tends to be full of chemicals.

I’m not to the raw stage yet – although there is a lot that is appealing about a raw diet.  I’m still working on getting my family to accept new meals and alternatives to their favorites, especially the kids, but me too!  I just wish there were more vegan/raw restaurants in our area of suburbia so that the husband and kids could try new things that are made by people who actually know what they’re doing in the kitchen – and have cooked that way for many years!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

What do you want to read about?

Archives

