Food, Yarn, & Stuff

All in the Vegan Family: How Much Are You Spending on Food? | Vegan Mainstream

Posted on: July 2, 2011

This article popped up today and I thought it went along nicely with the other articles I posted yesterday and earlier today.

All in the Vegan Family: How Much Are You Spending on Food? | Vegan Mainstream

I know that this is something I need to work on in our home – and I like many of the things that Lisa mentions work for her family.  I’ve tried clipping coupons too, and agree – you only see coupons for the stuff that you shouldn’t be eating (vegan or not!)  So why waste the time!  I’ve never been great about keeping specific track of all our food expenditures – except monthly when I get our credit card statement.  Like the article – I’m one who doesn’t track cash that easily.  But I have a spreadsheet where I enter all our purchases, it started out as ‘daily’ or within a couple of days.  Then it turned into monthly – each time I get the bill I enter the purchases in a column groceries, restaurants, gas, and everything else.  So, I have a relatively up-to-date total of what we’ve spent on groceries vs. eating out.  And, I must stay eating out is one of my biggest faults.  We may have plenty of food in the house, but I just feel lazy and don’t want to cook something – or I have a taste for something that I don’t have the ingredients (or know-how) to make!  That’s something that I need to get better at.

I also need to do a little more ‘research’ into what fruits are in-season and when.  With the ability to ship produce all around the world, it’s hard to know because you can find almost any fruit or vegetable any time of the year!  One would hope that this would also be helpful because the things that are in-season in our region would, hopefully, be coming from more local sources.  I also agree that farmer’s markets are great in theory – but they are just as expensive, if not more than the grocery store – but, they have to pay to have a spot at the market, then they have to pay to get their produce there… just like the grocery store!

What do you do to keep your grocery budgets in check for your family?

3 Responses to "All in the Vegan Family: How Much Are You Spending on Food? | Vegan Mainstream"

I’ve been writing some similiar posts: how to very easily clip coupons, how I plan meals for time and money and [a post in a few days] what I buy in a “typical” week. Maybe they can help if you are trying to get into this.
But overall, I stick to buying what’s on sale and what’s in season. Follow Serious Eats or The Kitchn to get ideas for seasonal meals.
Good luck, would love to see what you do and how it works out!

This is a very interesting article and I can see so many similarities in problems we have with getting take out when we have a kitchen full of food. I go through phases of keeping track of our money but all to often we drift off track; so from tomorrow we’re starting again. Thank you for re-blogging; if you hadn’t I would never have saw the article. We’re not vegan, I afraid, but. We try to still eat fresh not processed xx

Hey, could you send me your spreadsheet format? I’d be curious to take a look at it. I have a budget but don’t really track exactly what we spend – we’re just pretty frugal in general. But, now that I am back at work, we’ve gotten lax with our frugal habits. I’d be interested to track what we’re spending.
To keep costs down, I do a meal plan once a week – it is a pain in the ass, but it definitely keeps us on track as far as cooking (we take turns now that Pete works from home some days and I am in the office some days) and limits spending. I just plan dinners for the week and make sure we always have plenty of fruit and things for salads (and a few convenience items).
I definitely agree with the coupon clipping. Lots of things you would not normally buy – or shouldn’t. But SuperTarget has online coupons that I print out and I get them from the store too.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

What do you want to read about?

Archives

