Food, Yarn, & Stuff

Review: Vegan Frozen Pizzas

Posted on: June 28, 2011

Today, the husband worked late – after his disk golfing trip with work friends.  So, it was just the kids and me again for dinner.  One wanted tacos the other wanted mac and cheese – so I found a compromise… pizza!  I had a few personal frozen pizzas in the freezer.

First Amy’s (this was the kid’s pizza).

Amy's non-dairy Cheeze Pizza w/ Rice Crust (and the smallest slice ever in the box picture! This is a 'personal' size pizza!)

Cooked

The pizza got a little dark around the edges from the broiler.  Both pizzas baked at 425 degrees (F) for about 10 minutes.  But then this one said to broil for a few minutes to melt the cheeze.  That’s a definite ‘must follow’ instruction!  The cheeze doesn’t take a melted appearance otherwise.  The boy loved it… but put this in the category as nuggets… if it remotely resembles cheese pizza he’ll eat it without a second thought!  The girl, not so much!  She pointed to the cheeze and asked “what’s this white stuff?”  I said “cheese”.  She responded “it doesn’t taste very good.”  I took a bite to try it – eh.  Not my favorite.  But that could be the rice crust.  It’s a little crumbly, kind of like the dried out Pizza Hut crust, and the sauce is a little strongly seasoned.  But, it’s not horrible.

I’d give it a B-, not a favorite, but if it’s the only option I’d eat it.

Now the Whole Foods 365 Vegan Roasted Veggie with Whole Wheat Crust…

Whole Foods 365 Vegan Roasted Vegetable Pizza w/ Whole Wheat Crust

Cooked with Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds

Now this one… YUM!  I wasn’t quite ready to go down the cheese-less pizza route, and I had bought some Daiya mozzarella style shreds, so I added my own ‘cheese’ to this pizza and broiled it along with the other one to get it melted.    But, it honestly doesn’t need it!  This pizza is really tasty!  The crust was just the right level of crispy, and the sauce has a nice flavor but isn’t over powering, and the roasted veggies were tasty, they weren’t mushy like one might think.  I have another one that is a different crust… rice I think.  We’ll see how that compares to the Amy’s pizza.  I’ll have to make it some time this week (partly to use the cheese that I opened!)

I will definitely buy this pizza again!  I wish they made a ‘full size’ version of this pizza (maybe they do, and I just didn’t see it.)

I give this one an A+!!

1 Response to "Review: Vegan Frozen Pizzas"

I love Tofurky Pepperoni Pizza. It was the first vegan “junk food” I had when I went vegan so maybe I’m a bit biased 🙂 But it is yummy.

Debbie

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

What do you want to read about?

Archives

