Food, Yarn, & Stuff

Review: Health is Wealth Vegan Chicken-Free Nuggets

Posted on: June 23, 2011

Tonight the husband is working late, so it’s just the kids and me for dinner tonight.  We’re all tired from our day out, so I’m going with something easy for dinner tonight.  I found these on my last shopping trip – and was happy to see that they’re actually vegan!  Some of the other chicken-free nuggets or chick’n nuggets aren’t vegan because they use eggs or milk.  The husband also saw a story or YouTube video about what chicken nuggets are made out of, and has been pretty strongly voicing that we should not allow the kids to eat those any more! (Although, it’s hard to find something other than nuggets that the kids will eat at a fast food restaurant – but that’s another story!)

Health is Wealth Vegan Chicken-Free Nuggets

I cooked them in the oven.  They very much matched the texture and mouth-feel of store-bought processed chicken nuggets.  They’re a little on the soft side – but that could be because I baked them, and they sat for a little while to cool before we ate them.  There are directions for stove-top preparation using a small amount of oil to ‘fry’ them in a skillet.  This might make them a little more crunchy and possibly firmer in the middle.  They do have a little bit of a spicy kick to them.  The boy liked them – but again, he will eat anything shaped like a ‘nugget’ without too much trouble!  The girl ate them but said they were a little bit too spicy, so they weren’t her favorite.

I’d rate these a B.  Again, another great freezer back-up, especially for kids!  I’m finding that I’m having a really hard time getting them to like any vegan recipes I’ve tried to make, even from The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Vegan Eating For Kids.

This company also makes a Chicken-Free Patty which I’m excited to try.  Chicken Patties just have an emotional tie for me – when we went on our honeymoon at Sandals – Ocho Rios, Jamaica we always seemed to nap through the regular dinner hours and we ate most of our meals at the “snack shop” which featured chicken patty sandwiches and “turkey” hot dogs.  Those turkey hot dogs were fluorescent pink on the inside – so I have NO IDEA where they got their turkey from but we stayed away from those! So, for the 10 days we were there we ate chicken patty sandwiches for our main meals quite a few times!  Occasionally I just get a taste for a ‘Sandals’ chicken sandwich – so a vegan option for these is great! 😉

*This is purely my opinion – I purchased this product for my family.  It is in no way sponsored or endorsed by the company who makes this product*

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

What do you want to read about?

Archives

