Food, Yarn, & Stuff

Review: Mac and Teese

Posted on: June 20, 2011

Tonight’s dinner… Mac & Teese and a salad.

Teese Vegan Cheese - Creamy Cheddar Sauce

This is Teese – vegan cheese alternative in the Creamy Cheddar Sauce version.  It’s made by Chicago Soydairy… the same company that made my new favorite sweet treat – Dandies Vegan Marshmallows.  It certainly comes in an interesting form… what I affectionately call a sausage tube. I’m sure there’s an ‘official’ food packaging term for this, but I like mine!  This is definitely an interesting product.  I wish it came in a better package – although I’m not sure exactly what that would be.  I took the package’s directions though and just added this sauce to hot cooked pasta for instant mac and cheese!  When I tried to cut it open though, I lost quite a bit of the liquid that is inside the package, so I’m not sure if this affected the overall finished product or not.

I used 16 ounces of rotini pasta cooked in salted water.  Once the pasta was done cooking, I drained it and added the whole tube of teese.  I stirred and stirred until it was all melted.  It never really got ‘stretchy’ though (again, I’m not sure if the loss of liquid affected this or not.)

Here’s what it looked like when it was done melting…

Rotini Mac and Teese

I tasted it, and it seemed like it was missing something… but my brain is comparing it to Kraft Deluxe, the salt capital of the ‘mac and cheese world’!  It actually tasted a bit more like the Annie’s Homegrown organic mac and cheese mix (the dry mix kind).  Then I realized that it just needed a bit more salt to help bring out the flavor since the teese is actually pretty low in sodium overall.  Luckily, I just bought a big jar of sea salt from Sam’s Club yesterday.  So, I added a few sprinkles to the pot and stirred it up – that was just what it needed.

The only issue was as it cooled down it got a little dry and kind of waxy feeling in your mouth – again, side effect of losing the packaging liquid?  I’m unsure.  I’ll have to try it again and more carefully open the package over the pot instead of the sink.  I wish this product was more widely available in my area – but out in the suburbs I’m limited only to Whole Foods for this one.

My rating: B

It’s definitely an acceptable replacement for the good ole’ Kraft Deluxe, even with the slight dry, waxy issue.  And, it does have a decent refrigerated shelf-life, so it is something to keep on hand for last-minute lunches or dinners.  However, I have some ‘from scratch’ recipes for mac and cheese replacements to try before I make this a ‘standard’ on our menu.

I do also have the ‘nacho cheese’ version of this in my fridge, and I’ll probably try it with nachos some time later this week or next.

*This is my opinion. This is a product I purchased for my family. This review is in no way paid for or endorsed by the company who made this product.*

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

What do you want to read about?

Archives

