Food, Yarn, & Stuff

Review: Chicago Soy Dairy: Dandies Vegan Marshmallows

Posted on: June 19, 2011

*The following is purely my opinion – I purchased this product for my family.  It is in no way sponsored or endorsed by Chicago Soy Dairy*
 
I made a trip to Whole Foods today so that I can venture down the road of vegan baking by making cupcakes for the husband to take to work for his birthday tomorrow.  (There is a vegan, and many vegetarians, whom he works with, so it should be a fun treat!)  I had seen these marshmallows on another blog, and made mental note that they carried them at Whole Foods.  So, when I was in the baking aisle today I happened to look down and saw them.  I had to try them!!  Sweets are my biggest down fall – marshmallows, gummy bears/worms, etc. are the worst for me!  I’ve always had a sweet tooth!
So, I got home and put the groceries away and left these sitting out on the counter… I couldn’t resist, I had to open them and try them!  OMG…. these are SO GOOD!  They’re slightly different from standard marshmallows, a little more dense and squishy, less spongy – like there’s a little less air.  I could easily sit here and eat the entire bag as I type this!  I’m not sure if I’ll manage to try a few melted…. I might have to make a vegan ‘concession’ and make some hot chocolate just to try these, and maybe a microwave s’more.  I’ll be sure to report back on the melting ability of these, but I’d imagine that they would work just the same!
Overall, these get an A from me!  The kids both liked them too – but neither of them have been huge marshmallow fans up until now anyway.
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

What do you want to read about?

Archives

